Cool Stuff

Another list of some cool things!! =) (This one is just 5 things because I have to go decorate for Homecoming in a bit…)

1. Bon Iver. I just discovered this band, although they are not new. Bon Iver’s first CD, titled For Emma, Forever Ago was released in 2007. Justin Vernon recorded the bulk of this album while spending three months in a cabin, pretty much alone, in Wisconsin. The band’s second CD, a self-titled album, was released in June of this year. Although both albums are good, my favorite is For Emma, Forever Ago. The songs are beautiful and very different (I think) from anything else I have on my iPod. Which is a good thing I think. Also, Bon Iver radio on Pandora is just as awesome.

2. Jon McLaughlin‘s new CD. Jon McLaughlin is one of my favorite singers. The first time I ever heard him was at the Kelly Clarkson concert I went to a few years ago. He was her opening act and my goodness, he’s amazing live! Molly and I soon fell in love with his music. His first CD, titled Indiana, was released in 2007 and his second album, titled OK Now, was released a year later. Now, he’s released his next album (a 3 year wait!! Ugh) titled Forever If Ever. I bought it yesterday, and I’m already in love, even though I haven’t listened to the whole album yet. My favorite song so far is My Girl Tonight.

3. Kate McGill. I found this girl on Youtube one day while looking for a cover of a song (I don’t even remember what it was anymore). She usually sings in her bathroom, but even so she always sounds amazing! She’s releasing her debut album this month, on the 26th. I’m very excited about it! I wish I lived in the UK though because that’s where her tour is going to be (she’s from the UK so it makes sense). Guess I’ll have to go spend a few months over there! =)

4. Capes. Sounds a little weird, right? I don’t mean superhero capes, but fashionable, I-want-to-wear-this-everyday capes. My favorite is a BHLDN cape that Lily Collins wore in the October issue of Teen Vogue. BHLDN has a ton of gorgeous capes, boleros, cardigans for your wedding day. However, they are super expensive! (The one I love is $400…Yikes!) Forever 21 does have a very affordable trench cape that I wouldn’t mind owning!

A gorgeous BHLDN cape

Forever 21's trench cape

Lily Collins looking beautiful in Teen Vogue

 

5. H&M. I LOVE this store. Unfortunately there isn’t one in Montana, so I rarely shop there. Their ads (TV and print) are amazing, their clothes are amazing, and the stores themselves are really fun to be in. If there was one closer to me, I’m sure I would spend a lot of time in it.

 

Leave a Reply

